A<u>n</u>angu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Review of Electorates

What is the Review?

Pursuant to section 9(8) of the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act 1981 ("the Act"), the Electoral Commissioner is required to review the electorates constituted in accordance with Schedule 3 of the Act not later than 3 months prior to each election. The next general elections of the Executive Board must be conducted between 1 May and 31 August 2020.

How are the Current Electorates Constituted?

There are seven electorates currently constituted of the following community groups:

- 1. Pipalyatjara and Kalka
- 2. Kanypi, Nyapari, Angatja and Watarru
- 3. Amata and Tiurma
- 4. Kaltiiti, Irintata and Watinumma
- 5. Pukatja, Yunyarinyi, Anilalya and Turkey Bore
- 6 Mimili
- 7. Iwantja, Amaruna, Railway Bore, Witjintitja and Wallatinna

Who may make a submission?

As it is a requirement of the Act that the review includes consultation with Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara and the Executive Board, the Electoral Commissioner has invited submissions from relevant Community Councils and the Executive Board.

Other interested parties or individuals with an interest in the communities listed above may, by notice in writing addressed to the Electoral Commissioner, make submissions regarding the constitution of the community groups within the seven electorates. Submissions must be received by 5:00pm on Friday 27 September 2019.

Please visit our website ecsa.sa.gov.au for more information on the review.

Mick Sherry

ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER

GPO Box 646

Adelaide SA 5001 APY.Review@sa.gov.au

